AVIEMORE AND VICINITY COMMUNITY COUNCIL

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the Community Council held via Microsoft Teams on Thursday 10th June 2021 at 7pm

1. Present

Peter Long (Chair), AVCC Al Dargie (Vice Chair), AVCC Kathleen Cameron (Treasurer), AVCC Elspeth Byrne (Secretary), AVCC Beth Hay, AVCC Bill Lobban, Highland Council Willie McKenna, National Park Sally Devlin (Visitor) Paul Jarvis (Visitor)

2. Apologies for absence

Joe Kirby (AVCC) Jeni Pacitti (AVCC) Jess Creber (visitor)

3. Declarations of interest - none

4. Minutes of previous AGM 2019

The minutes of the AGM held on Thursday 13th June 2019 were accepted. Proposed by Kathleen Cameron and seconded by Beth Hay.

5. Chairperson's annual report

As the Community Council was unable to hold an AGM during 2020 due to Covid restrictions this report covers the period from the previous AGM in June 2019.

Having been elected to the Community Council in November 2019 I was honoured, if slightly surprised to be elected as Chair in July 2020. My learning curve remains steep, but it has proved to be an interesting and largely enjoyable challenge for me.

Firstly, I must record the thanks of the Community Council to former members Ian Gray, Erin Ferguson, Wilma Grierson and Karen Lawrie all of whom have stood down since the last AGM. Also to both Al Dargie and Joe Kirby for their work in the Secretary role.

Particular mention must of course be made of the work of John Grierson, my predecessor as Chair. John served on the Community Council for many years and worked tirelessly on behalf of the community. John's knowledge, resourcefulness and list of contacts served the organisation and the wider community well, and he has continued to provide support and advice to me as his successor. He remains a hard act to follow! My thanks to John, and to all the other previous Community Councillors.

Our organisation remains strong, however and it has been particularly pleasing to be able to welcome new members in recent months. I am confident that the

commitment, enthusiasm and experience of our Community Councillors will see us continue to thrive in the coming years. Special mention should be made of both Elspeth Byrne and Kathleen Cameron, both of whom have recently taken on office bearer roles to ensure that we are able to keep operating.

I would like also record my thanks to Councillor Bill Lobban, and to Liz Cowie and the other Highland Council officials who do so much to help keep Community Councils functioning.

The past 15 months have of course been particularly challenging for the Community Council, and for Aviemore and the wider community. We have been able to continue to meet virtually using Zoom, but I am sure we are all looking forward to the day we can re-convene in person. Sadly, many of our usual community activities have had to be curtailed due to the pandemic. Despite these difficulties we can celebrate the upgrading of our Village Green with the work organised via ACE. We can also be proud of the work of our Community Covid Fund, which thanks to the generosity of local people was able to provide direct financial assistance to those in need due to the pandemic.

Going forward, we look forward to welcoming visitors back to the Strath and all of the economic and social benefits that brings. There can be a downside though, and we will be working with all the relevant agencies to mitigate any negative impacts of visitor numbers and anti-social behaviour. We hope there will be further opportunities for investment in the public realm, and that we can continue to help keep Aviemore special for residents and visitors.

There were no questions.

6. Treasurer's financial statement

Kathleen Cameron said that the financial statement had been prepared by Wilma Grierson, the Treasurer for the bulk of the period, and had been signed off by Sandra Murray.

The financial statement was not available at the meeting but Bill Lobban and Peter Long agreed that this would be signed off at the July meeting.

See attached.

7. Demit of current office bearers and election of office bearers

OFFICE	NOMINATED	PROPOSED	SECONDED
Chairperson	Peter Long	Al Dargie	Kathleen Cameron
Vice Chairperson	Al Dargie	Kathleen Cameron	Beth Hay
Secretary	Elspeth Byrne	Kathleen Cameron	Beth Hay
Treasurer	Kathleen Cameron	Beth Hay	Elspeth Byrne

- 8. **Provisional date of next AGM** 9th June 2022
- 9. Closure 7.25pm